Print

estructura

GOVERNMENT STRUCTURE

The country’s democracy and the observance of the human rights have always been of great relevance for Costa Rica, a nation that has had an established and strong democracy since more than 100 years. Costa Rica got its independence in 1821 and in 1848 the country proclaimed itself a Republic.

The army was abolished in 1949; meanwhile the current Constitution was adopted, which established Costa Rica as a Democratic Republic with three independent branches of power: executive, legislative and judiciary.

The executive power is led by the President and two vice-presidents, who have the assistance of the Ministers of government in order to accomplish the administration goals. Mr. Luis Guillermo Solís is currently the President of the Republic (2014-2018).

The legislative branch is unicameral and is composed by 57 Congressmen. The President, the Vice-presidents and the Congressmen are elected every four years under a closed and blocked list system in secret and universal elections.

The judiciary branch is represented in the Justice Supreme Court (Corte Suprema de Justicia) by 22 judges that are elected by the Legislative Assembly for a period of 8 years. The Court is composed of 4 Chambers, each of which oversees different thematic areas.  

Costa Rica is geopolitically divided in 7 provinces: San José, Alajuela, Heredia, Cartago, Puntarenas, Guanacaste y Limón; which, at the same time, are divided into 81 cantons.

Links of interest

Legislative Assembly: http://www.asamblea.go.cr

Presidency: http://www.casapres.go.cr

Judiciary branch: http://www.poder-judicial.go.cr

Drucken

estructura

 REGIERUNGSSTRUKTUR

Die demokratische Entwicklung und die Verteidigung der Menschenrechte waren immer von großer Bedeutung für Costa Rica, deshalb erfreut sich das Land seit über 100 Jahre  einer etablierten Demokratie. Costa Rica wurde im Jahre 1821 unabhängig und im Jahre 1848 als Republik ausgerufen.

Parallel zur Abschaffung der Armee im Jahre 1949, ist die aktuelle Verfassung von Costa Rica in Kraft getreten. Durch diese wird Costa Rica als eine demokratische Republik gegründet, mit drei unabhängigen Gewalten: Exekutive, Legislative und Judikative.

Die Exekutive steht unter Führung von der Präsidentin und zwei Vizepräsidenten, und zählt auch auf die Unterstützung der Minister der Regierung. Luis Guillermo Solís ist der aktuelle Präsident der Republik (2014-2018).

Die Legislative, bestehend aus einem Einkammersystem Parlament (Asamblea Legislativa), setzt sich aus 57 Abgeordneten zusammen. Der Präsident, die Vizepräsidenten und die Abgeordneten werden alle vier Jahre nach allgemeinem Wahlrecht gewählt.

Die Judikative wird durch den Obersten Gerichtshof repräsentiert und setzt sich aus 22 von dem Parlament gewählten Magistraten zusammen, welche für eine Periode von acht Jahren ihr Amt ausführen. Der Gerichtshof besteht aus vier Abteilungen mit verschiedenen Zuständigkeiten.

Geopolitisch ist Costa Rica in 7 Provinzen aufgeteilt: San José, Alajuela, Heredia, Cartago, Puntarenas, Guanacaste und Limón; die jeweils in 81 Distrike geteilt sind.

 

Links von Interesse

Parlament: http://www.asamblea.go.cr

Präsidentenamt der Republik: http://www.presidencia.go.cr/

Judikative: http://www.poder-judicial.go.cr