

PROTECTED AREAS

The administration of the Costa Rican biologic richness rests on the Ministry of Environment, Energy and Telecommunications (MINAET) and in it, specifically on the National System of Conservation Areas (SINAC), responsible of the conservations and sustainable promotion of the country's biodiversity. SINAC oversees 11 conservation areas in the country and has a superior direction that provides technical support.

Today, the System of National Parks and Reserves comprises an area of 1342 hectares, which traslates in 25.6% of the country's surface. These areas are constituted by isles and beaches, rainforests and dry forests, active volcanos, thermal springs, caves, mountain chains, river canyons and waterfalls. Currently, there are 186 protected zones, among them biologic reserves, national parks, wildlife refuges, among others.

Conservation Areas
Marine Conservation Area Isla del Coco
Conservation Area <u>Tempisque</u>
Conservation Area Arenal-Tempisque
Conservation Area Guanacaste
Conservation Area Huetar Norte
Conservation Area Pacífico Central
Conservation Area Cordillera Volcánica Central
Conservation Area <u>Tortuguero</u>
Conservation Area <u>La Amistad-Caribe</u>
Conservation Area <u>La Amistad-Pacífico</u>
Conservation Area Osa

Protected Areas	
Link of interest:	
National System of Conservation Areas	

www.sinac.go.cr